SteveWynn.net

Tour Reviews

9.01.11: Arlington, VA United States

While the various hipsters and poseurs lined up on the sidewalks to get into nearby rooftop bars and other exclusive digs, those of us in-the-know (many with AARP cards in tow) knew where the real scene was unfolding: The IOTA Club & Cafe.

After seeing the BBP in Atlanta at the Earl in September '09, I get to see them on my home turf. Accompanied (and abetted) by best friend/designated driver/angel/better half Rachelle, we hook up with son Moose sporting his replica #42 Mariano Rivera jersey. (The genuine Mo would later on that night, just as the BBP closed out their game, shut down the Red Sox at Fenway, freezing (alleged MVP candidate) Adrian Gonzalez with the bases loaded who watched strike three sail by.)

The ironies and parallels abounded on the evening. In August 2003, Moose (all of 16 years old then) attended a soundcheck at IOTA (a 21 & over club) at Steve and Linda's invitation. Back then his head all but exploded when Steve dropped his Tele in Moose's mitts and urged him to try it out. Tonight, he's legal.

Tonight, Stephen Strasburg, Washington Nats phenom and subject of Steve's "Phenom," is in the process of pitching six shutout one hit innings in Harrisburg, PA for the Harrisburg Senators in his final rehab start (following "Tommy John" surgery) before rejoining the Nats next week. The BBP's final show of the current run is in Harrisburg at the ballpark next week.

Moderate, yet vocally appreciative, crowd inside the IOTA. The guys and gal did two sets. Sal Maida, picked up on waivers from Cracker, pinch hit for Peter Buck (on injured reserve).

Highlights (for me): Impromptu renditions of the Shocking Blue's "Venus," prompted by Steve's intro to "Fernando" and the Who's "The Kids Are Alright," which erupted prior to "Past Time." A cover of The Flamin' Groovies' "Shake Some Action" was the high point for me. Worked out during the soundcheck and played for the first time, the BBP started off tentatively, then locked into a joyous, raucous groove. Scott and Linda were grinning from ear to ear and one couldn't help but be sucked in.

The setlist below reflects what I think I heard. In no particular order...



2.12.11: Milano Italy

Third Steve show @ Bloom for me, after 30.4.1994 and 25.10.1997... always good times when Steve plays, a grand total of 18 shows with this one :)

Loved the acoustic part with Rodrigo, have to thank Afterhours for bringing some rock on stage... yum !

Thanks Steve - catch you sometime down the road, hope to be able to stop and chat a bit !
See That My Grave Is Kept Clean
Anthem
The Side I'll Never Show
Medicine Show
Bring The Magic
Punching Holes In The Sky
Wait Until You Get To Know Me
Tears Won't Help
Merrittville
Carolyn
Amphethamine
Resolution [*]
Manhattan Fault Line [*]
Boston [*]

When You Smile
There Will Come A Day
The Days Of Wine And Roses [*]

Tell Me When It's Over

[*] with Afterhours

5.01.11: Hoboken, NJ United States

This is a review for the Baseball Project at Live at Drew's on 4/30/11:

I arrived at the Lakefront cabin that is Live at Drew's at 5:15 for the 6:00 show. The Baseball Project members were mingling with fans, munching on the apps that attendees brought and were having an altogether good time, which is what the Baseball Project seems to do. The show began at 6:15, though at 6pm Mr. Buck waited patiently by the panoramic windows for his mates to join him, and this was an erstwhile moment, subtle and eye-catching. After host Drew introduced the band (miffing on Mr. McCaughey as Steve McCaughey), the BP played two sets of poppy, catchy rock that shifted in band origin and guitar sound. Set one included several BP songs along with songs by Dream Syndicate (with Buck on a 12-string Stratocaster, I believe, which sounded great) and by the Minus 5. after a 15 minute break, Set Two got the audience more into the music as the sun set on the lake. Buck and McCaughey switched bass and guitar parts on several occasions and Linda Pitmon rocked her kit as she always does. She even offered a harmonica part near the set's end. Steve Wynn was in a congenial mood throughout and his and Scott's banter between songs complemented this show's even offering. For the encore Wynn and McCaughey led the audience in the National Anthem. Afterward, I tried to get the only setlist to post it, but because I was standing behind three rows of folding metal chairs, some other fan nabbed it. The band was gracious in signing merchandise and it seems like fans purchased a nice cache of cds. Overall, an enjoyable experience, but the venue doesn't quite allow for an intense vibe, but its intimacy makes up for it. I hope to catch the BP on the next leg of their tour.

9.02.11: Freehold, NJ United States

Great show! Great band! I hope you had as much fun as I did. Thanks for sharing.
Bill
The Baseball Project

11.04.11: Rome Italy

i write about steve before this gig; a review in advance, but after 30 gigs in Big Mama. Steve got soul, eyes, charisma, voice, heart, imagination, love, reality, sweat, blood, professionality, smiles, tears, songs, shoes, and anything else you can ask to a man, not just a musician. I'm proud to have the opportunity, year by year, to listen, live him. So, this gig has been great as usual. See you in Rome, Steve. Fabio

4.22.12: Sydney Australia

This was really great Steve - looking forward to the blog piece. I remenber The Fleshtones from late 70`s and 80`s.

4.22.12: Sydney Australia

This was fantastic Steve - long time - long distance - I remenber the Fleshtones from late 70`s. Exciting mixture.

4.13.12: New York, NY United States

I'm certainly coming to see you guys perform. What time will the performance at the Met Museum take place?

4.22.12: Sydney Australia

Very exciting! I haven't been to Australia in 25 years. I'll definitely write a blog piece about it as it gets closer and document while I'm there. The band will be me, Linda and special guests Keith Streng and Ken Fox from the Fleshtones.

4.09.11: Portland, OR United States

It's AWESOME already, and it's months away.

I've already crapped my pants in excitement at seeing this band in this tiny venue that hasn't done live music very much and has a horrific room and sound system. But RIGHT there, will be our baseball loving musical heroes.

I remember buying my first baseball card from some kid for three dollars, who laughed at me since it was barely worth a dime. But it was Pittsburgh Pirate Bobby Bonilla, and I thought he was cute and carried the card everywhere with me in my purple plastic wallet.

That is what this show will feel like all over again: first love of a great game.

2.12.11: Milano Italy

2nd attempt to post review... my 18th Steve Wynn show and always a pleasure. Afterhours were a very welcome addition !
See That My Grave Is Kept Clean
Anthem
The Side I'll Never Show
Medicine Show
Bring The Magic
Punching Holes In The Sky
Wait Until You Get To Know Me
Tears Won't Help
Merrittville
Carolyn
Amphethamine
Resolution [*]
Manhattan Fault Line [*]
Boston [*]

When You Smile
There Will Come A Day
The Days Of Wine And Roses [*]

Tell Me When It's Over

[*] with Afterhours

11.25.10: Amsterdam NETHERLANDS

hi,

the Paradiso venue says it's with an orchestra:
http://www.paradiso.nl/web/Agenda-Item/STEVE-WYNN-THE-DRAGON-BRIDGE-ORCHESTRA.htm

Is this correct?

11.23.10: London United Kingdom

Brilliant musics from instruments they played
Too many to mention

11.10.10: Trieste Italy

Can't wait for it!!!

11.07.10: Frankfurt Germany

A real rock show! Excellent

2.09.11: Nurnberg Germany

We're very much looking forward to welcome you back in Nuremberg, your
My wishes for the concert:

All the songs from

12.03.10: Vitoria Spain


WHAT AN UNFORGETTABLE NIGHT!!!!

I have seen 10 Steve´s shows, 7 Steve, 1 Steve and Australian Blonde, 1 Guterball, 1 Dream Syndicate and I am sure that I will never forget the firt and last one, both in Vitoria. I was 21 years old in 1981 when Dream Syndicate arrive to Vitoria and show me the power of rock and now with 45 year in my bag, they take me back to my youth. What a night. I saw in Bilbao a week before and enjoy the new songs and his usual energy but in Vitoria they give us a magical night ended whit four encores full of passion and gratefullness. And as always Steve came down to sign and speak and salute to all of us.

Thannk you. I repeat the same sentence I told you that night: "You always make me happy".

I hope not to wait so long for the next time.
HELL DORADO VITORIA 3 de Diciembre 2010
1- Resolution
2- Daddys Girl
3- Cindy, It was always you
4- Consider The Source
5- Shelley's Blues, pt. 2
6- No One Ever Drowns
7- Strange New World
8- Bullet With My Name On It
9- Colored Lights
10- Death Valley Rain
11- South California Line
12 That's What You Always Say
13- Amphetamine

First Encore

14- Ribbons And Chains
15- The way you punish me
15- Halloween
16 The Days Of Wine And Roses

2nd Encore

17- John Coltrane,s stereo blues

3nd Encore

18- When you smile (Steve solo)

4nd Encore

19- Boston
20- 15 500 Girl Mornings

9.25.09: Arlington, VA United States

Bravo! Baseball Project! Bravo! Yer not e'n here yet, en I can smell the sweat on yer jock straps!

11.21.09: Bordentown, NJ United States

Excellent show from Steve and Jason! Standing room only crowd in this cozy record store. Steve was personable and funny, took lots of requests (for lots of Velvets songs, lol) and played most of them. Kid stumped him by requesting Freak Star. A great evening's entertainment by a super songwriter. It was nice to be able to hear all of Steve's great lyrics.

9.25.10: Tucson, Arizona United States

This will be my first time seeing Steve in 25 years. He is so fn fine mmmm

1.16.09: Asbury Park United States

blow
setlist

9.13.09: Toronto, ON Canada

Photos from the show are now up on www.turnituporturnitoff.com, direct link http://www.turnituporturnitoff.com/Photos/2009/20090913.htm
Set 1:
1. Twilight Distillery
2. Ted Fucking Williams
3. Broken Man
4. Tonight You're Buying Me A Drink, Bub
5. Love Me Anyway
6. Wait Until You Get to Know Me
7. Out There on the Maroon
8. I’m Not Bitter
9. The Lurking Barrister
10. Vintage Violet
11. Dark Hand of Contagion
12. Waiting Like Mary
13. Tell Me When It's Over
14. Let The Good Times Crawl
15. Lies of the Living Dead
16. Amphetamine

Set 2:
1. Dirty Water
2. The Days of Wine and Booze
3. That's What You Always Say
4. Past Time
5. Gratitude (For Curt Flood)
6. The Death Of Big Ed Delahanty
7. Harvey Haddix
8. I Still Miss Someone
9. Cigarettes Coffee and Booze
10. Ambulance Dancehall
11. Trial Separation Blues
12. Medicine Show
13. Revolution Blues
14. Days Of Wine And Roses
15. Aw Shit Man

Encore 1:
1. Fernando
2. Strychnine

Encore 2:
1. Hang On Sloopy
2. Teenage Head
3. The Ballad of John And Yoko
4. Sometimes Good Guys Don't Wear White

9.12.09: Clark, NJ United States

Arriving from Newark Airport to the Union County Musicfest stage in a police squad car, the members of the Minus 5/Baseball Project/Steve Wynn IV today crafted a set built on the momentum of their arrival in Clark, NJ. The Baseball Project’s “Past Time” opened the show loudly and on solid footing even though the at-times soaking rain and surrounding mist limited the attendance at the Fest. The set included a nice balance of songs from the members’ musical experiences. Baseball Project, Minus 5, Fine Fresh Fellows, and Dream Syndicate tunes comprised the mix. I hope I’m not forgetting any more. The band is definitely benefiting from time together on the road and playing together every night. Scott and Steve traded leads throughout and this process made for a nice flow and ebb. Peter kept the rhythm on bass throughout and one can’t say enough about Linda Pitmon. After finishing her red bull right before the show’s start, she rocked her kit full tilt (I even scored a broken drum stick in the shape of a “T”) and provided complementary backing vocals. Although this was a shortened set because of the festival time format and stage shifting for alternating bands, the band reached its peak for the last five songs. Scott’s crunching guitar solos on his green beauty and Steve’s guitar gems on his Fender Jaguar lifted the show to a really tight, loud, and rocking crescendo. Songs included in the full set were “The Closer,” “Let the Good Times Crawl,” “Ted Fucking Williams,” “Yankee Flipper,” “Ambulance Dance Hall,” and “Dark Hand of Contagion.” Scott told the crowd to give him the finger during future "Yankee Flipper" versions. “Harvey Haddix” included an updated bridge and vocal shout out to include the recent perfect game thrown by the White Sox’s Mark Buehrle, and Scott gave a creeper intro to every musician’s nightmare for “The Lurking Barrister.” But perhaps the show highlight for this reviewer was the band’s version of the Dream Syndicate’s “That’s What You Always Say.” I was also hoping for DS’s “Tell Me When It’s Over” since I saw of great version of it on You Tube from the band’s recent free show in Portland. But I’ll have to wait, maybe, for it in Philly on Tuesday. The Minus 5 closed with a fierce“Aw Shit Man” and that summed up my feelings on it being the end since the band just started to get heated. I did try to get Scott’s set list but was denied by a Fest stagehand, so the below track listing is incomplete and not in order. But each band member’s congeniality in meeting fans immediately after the show put this reviewer in a wet good mood…photo op with Mr. Buck…CD signed by Ms. Pitmon and Mr. Wynn…and nice conversation. Can’t wait for the COMPLETE show at the World Café Live on Tuesday. Schuylkill Expressway, I will stare you down like an effective closer, which the Philadelphia Phillies desperately need right now. I’m feeling that The Baseball Project will deliver in Philly!
Not complete and not in order. I was denied Scott's set list by a Festival stagehand. Damn!

7.19.09: Freehold, NJ United States

This show was played in an intimate studio setting provided by hosts Mark & Elaine as part of their "Concerts In The Studio" series. Bassist Dave DeCastro couldn't make the show due to logistical reasons, so for one afternoon the Miracle 3 became the "Miracle 2". This may be the last time "Harvey Haddix" was played in it's current lyrical form - four days later White Sox pitcher Mark Buehrle became the 18th pitcher in MLB history to throw a perfect game.


http://www.archive.org/details/stevewynn2009-07-19.aud.flac.16
DISC ONE (79:08):
01. Nothing But The Shell
02. Death Valley Rain
03. Cindy, It Was Always You
04. Bullet With My Name On It
05. Harvey Haddix
06. Bruises
07. Southern California Line
08. What Comes After
09. Strange New World
10. Crawling Misanthropic Blues
11. Kerosene Man
12. For Your Love (30 second teaser)
13. Merrittville
14. Why
15. There Will Come A Day
16. Halloween

DISC TWO (21:13)
01. Amphetamine
***ENCORE***
02. The Days Of Wine And Roses

***SOUNDCHECK***
03. Wait Until You Get To Know Me

6.27.09: Brooklyn United States

A great show celebrating the 25th anniversary of The Dream Syndicate's Medicine Show. The performance of John Coltrane Stereo Blues was probably the best I've heard. Steve Espinola joined the Miracle 3 on keyboards for the Medicine Show tracks.
01. Still Holding On To You
02. Daddy's Girl
03. Burn
04. Armed With An Empty Gun
05. Bullet With My Name On It
06. The Medicine Show
07. John Coltrane Stereo Blues
08. Merrittville
09. Definitely Clean
10. That's What You Always Say
11. The Days Of Wine And Roses
***ENCORE***
12. Bruises
13. Brave New World
14. Amphetamine

In Pictures

  • Back CameraBack Camera
  • Back CameraBack Camera
  • Back CameraBack Camera
more road pictures >

Steve's Diary

  • 2012-11-12: Oostende, Belgium

    Last night was the first show of my 17-city tour of Belgium with comedian (and my longtime friend) Piv Huvluv. And guess what? It worked. Really well,...more>
  • 2012-10-15: Dream Syndicate Tour Diary

    Funny how these things work out. Early last summer, my friend Mikel Renteria asked me if I would return to play the second annual Walk On Project (WOP) charity festival...more>
  • 2012-04-29: Our Work Here is Done

    Well, that's it. The Dig It Up festival is over. All of the bands have scattered in various directions. Some are still touring. The Hoodoo Gurus,...more>
8 Dollar Downloads
Steve at House Concert